↑ Return to Customizing ZBrush

Interface Layout

Share

Configurations are interface layouts that you have either created or that come with ZBrush. ZBrush ships with several configurations that you can access by pressing the Load Next User Interface Layout button in the upper right area of the interface. You can also save your own by pressing Store Config in the Preference > Config sub-palette.

Important!

Note: ZBrush does not save customizations automatically; you’ll need to save them explicitly if you don’t wish to lose them.
ZBrush configuration files are stored in a Public folder on your computer.
On Windows this is: Users\Public\Documents\ZBrushData\ZStartup\ConfigFiles
On Mac OSX this is: Users/Public/ZBrushData/ZStartup/ConfigFiles

Saving A New Default Configuration

  1. Press Preferences: Custom UI: Customize
  2. Customize the interface. To learn how to customize the interface click here.
  3. When done, press Preferences:Config:Store Config to store the current interface layout as you standard interface.
  4. ZBrush will give you a message that your settings have been saved successfully. The keyboard shortcut for this action is Ctrl+Shift+I.

Saving A Configuration

To save an interface configuration that you only occassionaly use do the following:

  1. Press Preferences: Custom UI: Customize
  2. Customize the interface. To learn how to customize the interface click here.
  3. When done, press Preferences:Config:Save UI.

Loading An Interface

  1. Press Preferences: Config: Load Ui
  2. Navigate to the interface you want to load and press Enter.

Restoring ZBrush’s Default Interface

You can restore ZBrush’s interface to the interface that ZBrush shipped with.

  1. Press Preferences: Restore Standard UI

This returns you to the same layout that ZBrush shipped with. Any colors and special settings within the palettes (such as memory management) will not be changed. In other words, only the positions of elements are changed by clicking on any of these layout buttons. Your personal settings will remain unaffected regardless of the layout.

You can also restore your own custom interface when in a different configuration.

  1. Press Preferences: Config: Restore Custom UI

You will be returned to the custom layout that you assigned earlier.